This section allows you to express views, opinions and visions in writing. Unlike applications, letters are not examined under the official procedure.

Your official request or application to the Government is henceforth subject to transparent procedures. Our website informs you as to which agency or official is currently in charge of your hand-delivered or mailed request or application.

Search iPhone/iPad application


Person responsible for freedom of information
Person responsible for internal and external warning

1-17 (calls are free of charge)

+374 (10) 527-000(for overseas calls)

Official e-mail

(only for notifications sent in system)


Official News

Monday, 30 November 2015

PM Attends Gala Event on 150th Anniversary of Gyumri State Drama Theater after Vardan Adjemyan

On November 29, Prime Minister Hovik Abrahamyan attended a gala event dedicated to the 150th anniversary of the Gyumri State Drama Theater after Vardan Adjemyan.

The Premier first attended the opening of the small hall after Mher Mkrtchyan, during which the Hovik Abrahamyan watched a documentary film entitled “Mher Mkrtchyan: The last role.” Then the Prime Minister watched a play entitled “Our and your theater 150 years,” dedicated to the Theater’s founding anniversary, which tells the story of the theatrical institution.

Congratulating the theater on the anniversary, Hovik Abrahamyan highly assessed the activities of those people who founded this center of culture. In this connection, the Premier remembered the names of Melik-Haykazyants and Vagharshak Shahkhatunuan, who in 1865 founded the theater lovers’ club in Alexandropol,

Hovik Abrahamyan noted that the theater’s birth added a relish and a different dimension to Gyumri. The town attracted the attention of several great actors - Petros Adamyan, Siranush, Hovhannes Abelyan, Karapet Galfayan, Vahram Papazyan, Aram Vruyr, Hovhannes Zarifyan and many others.

In the Prime Minister’s words, against the new background, a unique and vibrant national culture, a powerful, progressive, and easily accessible theater was shaped and developed owing to the contribution made by several generations of actors, artistic directors and painters in close touch with the local audience and intellectuals.

Reiterating his congratulations, the Prime Minister stated in part, “Keep the memory and traditions of your predecessors and masters, who used to appear on this stage and brought glory to the theater, enriching the 2000-year-long history of the Armenian theater.”

Hovik Abrahamyan suggested establishing a monument to Vardan Adjemyan in the nearby square and promised to provide assistance in this matter.

Under a presidential decree, in connection with the anniversary and for valuable contribution, Khachik Badalyan and Anahit Kocharyan were conferred upon the title of People’s Artist of the Republic of Armenia. Rafik Kharatyan and Tigran Gaboyan were awarded the title of Honored Artist; while director and actor Rafael Grigoryan was awarded the title of Honored Art Figure of Armenia. The awards were handed in by Prime Minister Hovik Abrahamyan.

On the anniversary and for valuable contribution to theatrical art, Prime Minister Hovik Abrahamyan presented artistic director Gevorg Khachatryan and actor Samvel Arakelyan with the Prime Minister’s commemorative medals.

January 2021